It’s a step up for most of us from 28mm but…if we’re honest with ourselves I reckon that for most of us there’s a Venn diagram that has ‘wargames’ ‘model railways’ and ‘miniature villages’ intersecting at some point. Love this blog.

The Model Villager: Tim Dunn

Ever since I was a small Timmy, I’ve loved trains. When you grow up near Britain’s biggest model train set, at Bekonscot Model Village in Beaconsfield, Buckinghamshire, it’s going to affect you in some way. As the son of a railway-loving chartered surveyor, and the grandson of  two grandfathers who built model trains, miniature railways, enjoyed gardening, and exploring weird and wonderful places, let’s be honest, it’s going to give you either a God complex or a size complex.

Or both.

Bekonscot Me on my first visit to Bekonscot. I’m impatiently waiting for a train.

I pestered Bekonscot until they let me work there at the age of 12, having the best (or most Enid-Blyton-esque) job anybody could ever want. I controlled the model trains, I occasionally repainted or fixed the tiny figures and I built some model buildings. I made some life-long friends through my work there, through our shared love…

View original post 1,671 more words

