Hey up.

Over the last couple of years I’ve bought (or, re-bought) a skip load of metal from Ebay. I’ve read on other blog sites how once upon-a-time when it were all black and white and it were fields everywhere, you could pick up a chaos beastman for 3 shillings a’penny and still have  change for a bag of chips, and the tram ride home, and how it’s got worse and worse blah blah blah…

I then became part of the problem; charging three quid postage – and getting it – just ’cause I knew a figure was collectable. I had  a bad karma moment when a figure I sold was shown off proudly on an Oldhammer themed blog less than a week later – I felt bad that I’d charged someone over the odds (although they’d accepted the cost, admittedly), and yet they were a gamer just like me, just wanting to pick up some lead for a bargain.

I had a rethink, dropped my postage, and still sell the odd figure, happy that I’ve got a hobby that mostly pays for itself. But..

Like most of you I guess, I spend a wee bit of time on Ebay and have noticed the postage costs are now DAFT across the board. You can pick up the odd old Ral Partha, damaged item or mislabelled figure for a quid postage but otherwise you’re paying £3.50+ for a mini or expecting a starting price of three quid. Enough is enough. I give in.

Is it me being unreasonable? I’m happy to take a hit on postage charges when its a mini that I really, really want, but…

Am I resigned to a life of plastic because I won’t pay over the odds? Am I just being a cheapskate? Is it just that I’m buying at a time when the market for Imperial Dwarves is at the height of a cycle and I should just wait it out?

Any thoughts, anecdotes or experiences welcome…

