So, what exactly are the upsides to sleepless nights with a newborn? Painting time! Yes sir.

2014 was seen in blissfully with a couple of bottles of nice cider, the sound of partner dozing on the settee cradling the new germ magnet and the sounds of Jools Holland murdering other people’s tunes with his boogie woogie pianna additions. While this buzzed around me I boozily finished off this merry gang…

Image

 

The level of detail on these fellas was a joy to paint and the fact that I managed 2-3 hours paintwork uninterrupted most nights really made for a happy new year. I managed to go on a spree of undercoating before sorting out my dwarf priest in a night:

Image

And then finishing off the last couple of these chaos cultists and basing the lot. If I’m really lucky this year this bunch may end up getting smurfed in a Necroumnda game:

Image

Up next before I head back to Dwarf Leadpile Mountain (including the preslotta Bugmans Rangers that Santa bought me), some random figures ready in the starting blocks:

Image

One chaos warrior that I’ve started base-coating, a female paladin-type, a Ral Partha bard and a Chronicle Orc.

As I’ve mentioned before, my painting is never going to win a Golden Demon, however I’m satisfied that I’ve improved and honed me chops. This is partly through practice, but partly as I don’t paint blind drunk anymore! Don’t get me wrong, sometimes this worked, like the time when I came downstairs in the morning and was convinced that someone else had painted one of my Hordes Druids as the paintwork was beyond my then ability. Other times however, things like this happened…

Image

Ever have those moments when half way though a paint job you think: “What the f*** is that?!?!?” I don’t know, I really don’t. It started with an experiment in beige undercoating (no, I don’t know either), followed by cocking up the Blanche paint-to-spit ratio by using 10% paint to 90% spit. Mix liberally with nearly a bottle of vodka and this was the result. – one royally f***ed up Hordes Lord Of The Feast. He’s heading to the Dettol pot as we speak – part of my new year regime of revisiting old atrocities and writing wrongs. Can’t say it won’t happen again, mind.

Right, back to reading the (last ever?) White Dwarf and reflecting on how GW got things so wrong (see a previous post for more thoughts on that) and daydreaming about a non-digital, un-alligned to one ruleset, unbiased, fantasy & sci-fi games magazine that inspires you. Oh yeah – that was the 80s. Could it happen? I don’t think its just nostalgia. There can’t be just me that comes out of the newsagent empty handed because none of the gaming magazines ‘fit right’. It’s like knowing that you’re not completely at home with Radio 2 (Wargames Illustrated), too young for Radio 1 (White Dwarf of recent times) and waiting for someone to invent Radio 6. Just a thought if anyone fancies bankrolling and publishing…

Toodle pip.

