Since getting back into gaming in the last couple of years I’ve watched the number of old school / Oldhammer blogs blossom. Big inspirations have been the FightingFantasist blog  -now sadly defunct – and the mighty Realmofchaos80s. Those two really raised the bar and while I’ve wanted to set up a blog for some time, I felt that there was nothing new that I could really bring to the party. So, in the knowledge that I’ve nothing new to add…here’s another blog where you’ll find a 40-something dad rambling about miniatures & games and posting poorly taken shots of his latest paintjobs. Let the entertainment begin…

ImageThese shots are the current painting project on the go – the start of my dwarf army for Warhammer 2nd edition – yup – old, old school… I’ve a pile of stunties, a small selection shown here – undercoated in white with a black wash – makes it loads easier to pick out detail when drunk-painting. They’re a mix of Asgard, Grenadier/Chronicle, Citadel – pre slotta, slotta and an occasional finecast. I’m normally 100% lead but I picked up and converted a LOTR command group from a bargain bin for £3 so couldn’t resist.

Image

Picked up a nice Hasslefree wizard but haven’t a clue how he’s gonna look yet – waiting for inspiration to strike. I know – dwarf wizards – not that useful, but it’s all about the feel…

Image

Just so you know – it’s not all about dwarfs. Well, mostly it is, but hey. Here’s my last finished job. I say finished. You always know that nothing’s ever quite finished. The old favourite –

Image

And a wee bit more chaotic – and plastic come to think of it…

DSCF1436

 

Here’s an old Air Elemental from Citadel. I’ve undercoated and green-stuffed the base but haven’t done anything else to him yet. I’m finding this one a bit intimidating so I’m working up the nerve  – and my blending chops – I from the Blanche school of blending by the way – 20% paint, 80% saliva normally sorts it…

DSCF1439

 

